A wonderful moment

I’ve been wondering for the last couple of weeks if Small is understanding a little more. When I would say to him, ‘More clapping…?’ he would process this and then clap his hands. But I couldn’t be sure if this was because I’d clapped my hands or because I’d used the word ‘more’ and he had just clapped his hands usefully for more in the hope that there was food involved. For Small the word ‘more’ covers all things to do with food. It’s hilarious. It runs the gamut from ‘I’m hungry, is it time to eat yet’, to ‘Could you give it to me faster please because I am starving’, right the way through to ‘I can hear something rustling is it by any chance food for me?’. Yesterday at tea time I was handing Big a plum for pudding and Small saw and just said ‘More, more, more!’. It’s probably time to try a new word, but I love this one.

Anyway.

On Saturday when I picked Small up from respite his wonderful care provider said, ‘Watch this’. And she proceeded to sing ‘If You’re Happy and You Know it’ to Small.
It went like this:
‘If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands…?’
Small waits, processes…fifteen seconds… clapped his hands.
‘If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands…?’
Small waits, processes, ten seconds…. clapped his hands.
‘If you’re happy and you know it and you really want to show it, if you’re happy and you know it clap your hands…?’
We all clapped.

IMG-20131002-01167

I have made him do this every day now since then and he never ceases to amaze me. Because this…. this is understanding… it is cognition on a very definite level. And on one level this is small, it’s just hand clapping but on another…. well, you get it.

Ethans Escapades
6 thoughts on “A wonderful moment

  1. Oh yay that is so great and a huge achievement.
    We sing twinkle twinkle every night for a similar reason and my lad is now at school and is just starting to be able to join in with some of the song 🙂

  2. This is fantastic news, this is how we get Ethan to clap. It took us years to get there but we did in the end. I think it was my #SSAmazingAchievements last week. Keep singing, keep clapping, I’m clapping along now :0)

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements
    x

  3. Pingback: The Sound of One Hand Clapping | The Epiphanator

Leave a Reply

