Ssh, that Liebster Award

In the past fews months two very very lovely and wonderful bloggers have nominated me for a Liebster Award, (Me, little me!), the lovely http://oneoffordinary.wordpress.com/ and the equally wonderful Mr Boo’s Mum at http://premmeditations.wordpress.com/. I’ve enjoyed both these blogs and empathised with their journeys.

To repay this compliment I have been woefully tardy at writing my Liebster post. I can only apologise. Two things prevented me. Time. Time to think in a different way, not about Small, but about me and, also, that you have to nominate other blogs for the Award. This is a wonderful idea but it does mean you have to know more blogs! And it’s only now, 6 months in, that I just about do.

I thought I’d amalgamate the questions. One Off Ordinary gave me an intimidating 10, so, I’m going to cherry pick two and add them to Premmeditations’ 3. I hope that’s ok…

So, to answer some questions:
What made you start blogging?
Actually, it’s more like ‘Who’. I sent a piece of writing to someone who said ‘Have you thought about blogging?’ and I said… no, I laughed and said, ‘No, where would I find the time?’. This idea niggled away at me for some time, till I noodled at wordpress for half an hour, put together the most low tech blog I’ve ever seen and have never looked back. As many many before me have said it is oh so cathartic.

What is your faourite book, film and album?
Tough one. My favourite book changes all the time. So I’m going to sidestep slightly to… I’m currently reading Maggie O’Farrells’s latest one ‘Instructions for a Heatwave’. It’s brilliant, and unlike some books that I’ve read recently that have made me go to sleep (Tove Jansson’s The Summer Book for one, a delightful read, but soporific), I haven’t wanted to put it down. This hasn’t done my sleep any good and, dammit, I can’t blame Small when I’m tired in the morning. O’Farrell has a wonderful style and a great back catalogue if you’re coming across her for the first time. Favourite film, The Shawshank Redemption. Every Time. I love it, it’s just inspirational, uplifing. And album… Recently I’ve been going back to Amy Winehouse and Ed Sheeran. I am soooo down with the kids, me. If Big had her way it would be Jessie J and Lady Ga Ga all the way. Thankfully, she doesn’t.

How do you keep your head while all around are losing theirs?

Ha. A good friend’s mother has a very useful phrase, ‘This too shall pass’. So when things aren’t going my way (and this ranges from ‘Small is ruining my life’ *sob*, all the way to ‘Why are there no pens in this house…!’) this is a phrase I hang on to. Because all these moments do pass and other, better, fluffier, ones come along.

What do you wish you could know about your future?
I had quite a long think about this one and had almost decided on ‘Nothing’, when I remembered the great big void at the back of our house that we’ve been working on, off and on, for the past two years. I’d like to know when our bloomin’ extension will be finished, and will I like it?

What do you wish you could tell yourself of 10 years ago?
Not to have children and then get married. It felt like the right thing to do then, but in retrospect it was the wrong way round. We’d gone from two income, no kids, with decent disposable income down to large mortgage and Big. In my head I’d hoped for the honeymoon of a lifetime to the Maldives whereas all we managed was two days on the Isle of Wight whilst my mum babysat Big. Don’t get me wrong, we had a wonderful time, but still, I could have been sat by a pool with nice people bringing me drinks all day. Somewhere hot. And not being worried the phone would ring to bring me home early like it did when she was 9 months old.

It’s at this point I get to ask the questions and nominate my 3 blogs…
My questions:
1) What would be your dream job and why?
2) What has surprised you most about being a parent?
3) The house is burning down. Which 3 things, besides your family, do you rescue on the way out?

The blogs:

http://www.eehbahmum.com/

I love this blog, it’s funny, and honest, about life with children. Mainly, it’s funny.

http://www.stephstwogirls.blogspot.co.uk/

I’m a bit worried Steph may have done one already, but this is a great blog about Steph and her two girls, one of whom has autism.

http://areyoukiddingney.wordpress.com/

This was the first blog I ever linked up to. When you start out telling the world you have a kid with additional needs, you don’t always want to read other people’s stories just yet. This blog showed me that actually you did. It’s the life of the D’s, which focuses on RD, the eldest child, with undiagnosed disabilities, a gorgeous character and glasses I want to steal.

index

Leave a Reply

